Clinical Biochemistry Department

About Us

The department of clinical biochemistry is one of the first departments established in the school of medicine in 1986.  The department is active in two sections: education and research. In education section, the department trains undergraduate students in all faculties of KAUMS including: medicine, dentistry, para-medicine, hygiene, nursing and midwifery, and also post-graduate students in clinical biochemistry, physiology, etc. Investigations are done in research center of biochemistry and nutrition in metabolic diseases managed by academic members of the department.

Mission

- To provide under-graduate and post-graduate students with the high quality education and clinical training in all areas of the clinical biochemistry

Vision

- To achieve advanced proficiency in Clinical Biochemistryand to implement high quality systems in the affiliated clinical laboratories of  Kashan University of Medical Sciences

Research Interest Areas
Oxidative Stress in Diseases
Signaling Pathway in Diabetes
 Protein Structure and Function
Research Group
- Dr. Fereshteh Bahmani 
Master Students
- Rana Shafabakhsh 
- Mahbobeh Satari
- Mehrdad Amini
- Fatemah Rahimi
- ....
   
 In-Vitro fertilization
Primer design
Gene expression
Research Group
- Dr. Esmat Aghadavod 
Master Students
- Majid Dastoorani
 
   
Lipids in Health and Disease
Erythrocyte Membrane in Disease
Coronary Artery Disease
 Research Group
- Dr. Gholamreza Namazi
Master Students
- Alireza Mafi
- Asma Hoseine
- Maryam Mehranian
- Raziyeh Salami
   
Enzymology
Protein structure
Biochemical and Molecular Mechanisms of liver fibrosis
Pathogenesis of Diabetes Mellitus
Research Group
- Dr. Mohammad Esmaeil Shahaboddin 
Master Students
- Zahra Nasehi
- Faezeh Jozi
   
Cell Culture
RNA extraction
RT-PCR
Western blot 
 Research Group
- Dr. Kheiripour, Nejat
Master Students
- Mahboobeh Sattari
 

Facilities

The educational facilities of the department are such as biochemistry lab located in the department and research laboratories in research center of biochemistry and nutrition in metabolic disease. 

Faculty Members

bahmani@kaums.ac.ir
 
aghadavod@kaums.ac.ir
 
   
namazi@kaums.ac.ir
 
shahaboddin@kaums.ac.ir
 
     
kheiripour@kaums.ac.ir
     

Head of Department

Dr. Fereshteh Bahmani (bahmani@kaums.ac.ir, fe.bahmani@gmail.com)
5km of Qotb–e Ravandi Blvd. P.O. Box: 8715988141, Kashan, IRAN
Tel: (+98 31) 55240021(3517)
Fax: (+98 31) 55541112

Administrative Officers

Zahra Jafari (Jafari@kaums.ac.ir)

Farzaneh Khalajee (khalajee@kaums.ac.ir)